When life paid a visit

A little conversation I had with life. There’s something for you in between. A little gift from us bloggers. If you can’t stand my rambling, jump right on to it. Though I would prefer if you read this through.

Life: Hey! Howdy?

Me: Oh hi! I am doing good.. I guess.

Life: Then why ain’t I feeling so?

Me: You know why, don’t you?

Life: You did survive another year.

Me: Then why am I not feeling that exhilaration?

Life: I said survive. I didn’t say you lived another year.ย Ah! now, don’t ya give me that look. You are supposed to know this is how it works. You ain’t no kid no more.

Me: I..What’s with that funny accent? Heck! it is not even a consistent one. A forced mockery, I say.

Life: Yeah mate! Picked it up from a few fellas I visited recently. You don’t leave a perfume store with just one scent on ya; no, not happening.

Me: Leave out the philosophy BS. I have been getting enough lessons from you, enough to start giving my own lectures.

Life: Ah! I see.

Me: Do you, now? What do you want from me?

Life: Come on, I just wanted to have a little chat; just go around checking how the year have been for all of ya’.

Me: Drop that accent.

Life: Okay. If you say so.

Me: Much better.

Life: Now tell me, how was your year?

Me: Why should I tell you something you know?

Life: No, I don’t want to hear what I know already. I want to hear how you felt it was. Your perspective.

Me: Uh..it was a mixed one. Not like last year, last year was a sudden change, up and down, a square wave. From zenith to nadir in no time. This year had more gradual fluctuations…like some function with a local maxima and minima. The void is still there though.

Life: That’s me!

Me: Stop giving me that silly look, you. I got it. Ups and downs..life.. duh!

Life: Okay, glad that you accept it. Good to know it was not all black and white. And stop trying to sound too nerdy.. with all those functions and minima and maxima.

Me: I kinda like it that way..sometimes.

Life: Well, suit yourself. Tell me, you had some grand plans when you started off this year. Any progress on that front?

Me: Yes, some of them definitely have seen some progress. Nothing to brag about, just that I have found the direction I have been seeking.

Life: That’s good news then.

Me: Yeah, actually, my plans about getting published – I’ve got a start on that.

Life: Really? That’s great! So what is it? Landed some contracts? Eh?

Me: Ha! not really. But yeah one of my stories has gone in to an anthology. You do know the Write Tribe group, right? The ever-cheerful blogger friend of mine, Vidya, and the captain of our ship, Corinne have made this dream a reality. They sparked this idea and moved it forward with gusto. Finally culminating in an anthology with 36 posts from as many bloggers, myself included. It was a privilege contributing to it.

Life: Sounds wonderful. I can judge that from the curvature and length of your grin.

Me: Who is being the nerd now?

Life: I like it that way too.ย Why don’t you show the book to your readers then?

Me: Oh! I almost forgot. Here is the beautiful vintage cover. Click on it to download the book. Do read and give feedbacks. There’s a wide gamut of articles. You’ll surely find something to your taste ๐Ÿ™‚ If you need a little bit more insight and the “making-of” story, no better place to check than Vidya Sury’s post.

The Write Tribe Anthology Book 1
The Write Tribe Anthology Book 1

Life: That went rather well; reminded me of those reality shows where they ask for votes.

Me: I’ll pretend I didn’t hear that.

Life: So what else went well this year?

Me: Are you making me ..

Life: ..count your blessings, yes. You need to do that more often, you know.

Me: (Sigh!) I’ll give you that.

Life: So? What else?

Me: This blog, for one thing. And mostly every other thing that followed came from this. Including the book. You gave me the much wanted motivation and emotional nudge; which is putting it lightly, it was more a push down the cliff in fact.

Life: Let us not get carried away here. Continue.

Me: Yeah, so I was saying that I had it all in my mind. But the final kick I got from those two guys, Ayush and Akhil.

Life: The 1hundredworkers?

Me: Yup. They did an interview with me, which I am shamelessly bragging about to my friends and teachers now.

Life: You are smiling.

Me: I guess you made me count my blessings. Not all, but enough to get me started.

Life: Good. But don’t drop your guard. You won’t, if you know me.

Me: Yeah, I know you are a..

Life: Mind your language, dude! People are reading.

Me: Don’t worry. I was going to say you are a good teacher.

Life: See you soon then. Need to catch up with a few others.

Me: Okay. Don’t you get bored of repeating this around?

Life: Not really. Here’s a free tip – No two life stories wind up the same way. Keep that in mind when you face the world. Everyone has their own set of grayscale palette.

Me: Uh..I’ll figure that out.. I guess.

Life: And about that void, keep your eyes open.

Me: You scare me.

Life: ๐Ÿ˜€ Time to leave buddy. Oh, one more thing. I can see a few strands of white hair. Some thing for me to work upon. Now don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Me: You’re despicable!

Life: They all say that. So long. Stay classy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Me: Ciao! You be good ๐Ÿ˜‰

Watching you, 2014
Yeah, I am watching

If you reached till here, I bow to your patience! Dear reader, thanks for being a part of this blog. Wishing you a wonderfully awesome year ahead. Stay blessed. Stay happy.

30 thoughts on “When life paid a visit

Add yours

  1. Now, that was a nice creative and innovative retrospective of your 2013, my mostly-black-haired-with-some-grey-in-there friend ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great 2014 ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed this conversation Vaisakh! Life is our greatest teacher and loved how it made you count the blessings in 2013. Hope you have a grand 2014 with more publishing of your brilliant writing and achieving more!

  3. Life: Hey Vidya, so nice to see you here (eh)
    Me: Thanks! I saw a post by Vaisakh after so long I simply had to come over.
    Life: Ah, and what do you think of this one?
    Me: Love it as usual. Methinks this chap should write more often.
    Life: Ha, try telling him that!
    Me: Oh come on! You’ll beat me in sarcasm any day! I don’t think that he doesn’t want to write. I assume he works rather hard eh?
    Life: The jury’s out on that one
    Me: So let me ask you a thing or two, Life. Whatcha think of the book?
    Life: Oh that was a most unexpected surprise.
    Me: Yeah, right? And you know what? Vaisakh didn’t just write a fabulous piece for it. He helped edit it.
    Life: You don’t say!
    Me: Just did, bud. No wonder they say patience is a virtue! He’s a quiet worker, that one
    Life: Hmm. Maybe I shouldn’t have been so harsh on him.
    Me: Look, Life, I know you a little more and a little better than Vaisakh does, at this point. So, since I turned 50 this year, can I make a wish?
    Life: Oh well..Ok…go ahead
    Me: Give the guy a break, will ya? Treat him right. Make 2014 memorable with good things. okay?
    Life: um..yes.
    Me: Deal?
    Life: Deal!
    Me: Thanks!

  4. Wow! what a creative way to sum up the year. It was really great that I stumbled upon some really great bloggers, you being one of the, Vaisakh. Congratulations on all your feat this year.

    I will visit more often now, I guess ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. That definitely is a very insightful for a first timer on your blog. Hilarious too, seems like life does throw in lot of laughs ๐Ÿ™‚ Well written, and yea , anyone would read it till the end ๐Ÿ™‚ Loved the convo bit .. really goooddd

    1. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad that you liked it.. Yeah, life likes to do a checkmate every now and then.. and I cry foul and we start again.. ๐Ÿ˜€
      Oh! I forgot.. welcome to The Museum Piece. Keep visiting ๐Ÿ™‚

Your thoughts matter!

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

