Holy cow!

Cows – the gentle giants. Dogs – loyal than your own shadow. What could possibly go wrong? Everything, apparently. Such have been my encounters with these fellow beings that my body goes into a fight or flee mode as soon as I see one of these. My brain only registers the rope or the leash a second later. I have got my priorities right, and how.

Now ours is a country where cows and dogs (and cats.. and goats.. and.. well, you get the idea ) stake as much claim to the public roads as we do. They roam our streets in all grandeur, and we of course co-exist (yeah, that’s how we roll). My first ‘holy cow’ moment was when I was about eight or nine years old. For some reason, I was afraid of cows. Gentle giants they may be, but they still have horns, don’t they? That, and the way they ambled around the streets with their portly bodies sporting a devil-may-care-attitude reminded of some of those filmy goons with knives. Or something akin to that.

So, during the summer vacations, I used to go for drawing classes. It was a good ten minute walk from my house to the class. The good piece of advice that I used to get everyday before going to the class included instructions to stay clear of stray cows and dogs, amongst other things. This cemented the cow-goon image in my mind I guess. But then, running into a cow or a dog seemed unreal to me. That is, until it happened. One day, on the way to the class, my worst fears came true. I turned a corner and saw a cow, nothing less, sauntering along, on the same side of the road that I was. That day, I knew what ‘paralyzed with fear’ really meant. All I could manage to do then was to turn around. My heart was pounding fast, and my mind was creating vivid imageries and neither was helping my cause. For some reason, my feet remained rooted to the ground.

I don’t know what I was expecting to happen. A few agonising seconds later, I felt something lightly nudge my back. That was the trigger I needed. Like a loaded spring I jumped and let out a shriek. That alerted the people nearby, who, till then were oblivious to me and my fear induced paralysis. One guy gently guided me into his shop and let my nerves calm down. Of course I wouldn’t forget his face, almost on the verge of exploding with laughter. That he knew my parents very well didn’t help either. The cow just mooed and moved on; I am sure I saw a smirk on its face too. After a few minutes, I resumed my walk back, with shaking feet and a shaken heart.

Years have gone by and the terror of the cow was gradually forgotten. I have gotten wiser too. I know there’s no need to be afraid of a cow.. you know..provided there’s a rope and someone at the other end of the rope. And if a cow is on the same side of the road as you are, just cross the road – trust me, it works. Sometimes the cow also crosses the road – just keep crossing back and forth until you pass the cow – this is a tried and tested method too. Amusement for the cow, relief for you, and a hilarious comedy for the passer bys.

The gentel giants: "Whatchya staring at dude?"
The gentle giants: “Whatchya looking at dude?”

 

So much for the bovine tales. Oh, I’ve got some canine tales too. More on that in the next post. Ciao!

 

[Image courtesy: Original image of the cows courtesy of mensatic.]

21 thoughts on “Holy cow!

Add yours

    1. Bitter lessons aren’t forgotten soon, and they form the wise words.. 😀 Still can’t figure out why the cows had to follow me across the road too.. Thanks for reading! 🙂

    1. I just read the post.. it was hilarious! 😀 though I can imagine what your state of mind at that time would have been.. Evil geniuses indeed.. 😀

  1. Oh yes, our cows are truly holy that is why they are so wise and calm despite the mad traffic around them. Sad that they gave you shocking and shaking experiences and memories! 😀
    A delightful read, Vaisakh. Looking forward to the canine tales now 🙂

  2. You aptly said ,their cla on public roads seem to be more justified than ours sometimes,even I had an encounter with a cow once while driving….
    It terrified me so much. .that when I see them gracing the public roads,I just try to get away asap

    1. Keeping the distance is indeed the best strategy.. unless the cow is a weird one which follows you everywhere.. 😀 Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. I also had similar attitude towards cows during my childhood and am not so loving and caring towards dogs either…A nice recount of your encounter with the bovine friend 🙂

  4. An enjoyable write-up, really those huge cows can be quite a menace on roads. My mother was once hit badly by one, she fell down on the road itself as the cow rammed into her. Thankfully she was very near the home so some neighbours helped her and brought back home. And thankfully no major harm was done. But since then she became very afraid of cows and understandably so. I am not so keen about stray dogs either…

    1. Oh.. that would have been a really terrifying experience for your mother! Good that nothing serious happened. Thanks for sharing your views.

  5. I shared this with my husband as he had a similar experience with pigs when he was little. Very scary. The cows knew exactly what they were doing, didn’t they? !!

    1. Thanks Carol.. such experiences can indeed be very harrowing. And the cows.. like Roshan was saying, they could be the evil geniuses.. 😀

  6. Sometimes the cow also crosses the road – just keep crossing back and forth until you pass the cow – this is a tried and tested method too

    Hilarious comedy orru under estoimation alle 😉

Your thoughts matter!

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

